England coach Southgate snubs Rashford for Brentford striker Toney

England manager Gareth Southgate has called up uncapped Brentford forward Ivan Toney for the Nations League games with Italy and Germany this month.

Toney, 26, has scored five goals in six Premier League games this season.

Keeper Dean Henderson and defenders Eric Dier and Ben Chilwell are recalled for England’s final competitive matches before the World Cup in Qatar.

Midfielder Jordan Henderson and keeper Jordan Pickford are not involved because of injury.

Defender Ben White and midfielder Conor Gallagher miss out.

Manchester United defenders Harry Maguire and Luke Shaw are included despite making only four Premier League starts between them this season, but team-mates Marcus Rashford and Jadon Sancho are again overlooked.

Rashford, who has not played for England since July 2021, is receiving treatment for a muscle injury.

Southgate said there was still time for Rashford to make the squad for the World Cup.

“It is only eight weeks until we will be naming our squad for Qatar so every minute counts,” he added.

“He [Rashford] is a player we know well so if he can perform at a high level in the next few weeks, he of course will be under consideration.”

Dier, who has not played for England since November 2020, has been recalled after an impressive start to the season for Tottenham.

England face European champions Italy at the San Siro in Milan on 23 September and Germany at Wembley on 26 September.

They are without a win in four games since beating Ivory Coast 3-0 in a friendly in March.

England squad:

Goalkeepers:Nick Pope (Newcastle), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), Dean Henderson (Nottingham Forest, on loan from Manchester United).

Defenders:Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (on loan at Everton from Wolves), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Fikayo Tomori (AC Milan), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders:Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice ( West Ham), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton).

Forwards:Tammy Abraham (Roma), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Ivan Toney (Brentford).