Barcelona striker Lewandowski: There was no gesture towards Gil Manzano

Barcelona striker Robert Lewandowski has rejected claims he faces a lengthy ban for his dismissal in victory at Osasuna.

The forward saw two yellows but while walking off, made a gesture which referee Jesus Gil Manzano noted down as one which undermined him. That means Lewandowski could be open to a three or four game punishment.

However he said he would be shocked if he was banned for that long as he was making the gesture to his coach Xavi.

“Why would they ban me for your games if the gesture was not directed at the linesman or the referee. It was for Xavi,” said Lewandowski while speaking after picking up his Golden Boot.

The forward added “we have spoken that if we got a yellow we would take care about (not getting) a second one”.